yoga philosophy

“A date with your body”

The body works for you. Get to know your body and every cell of your body. To give every cell new oxygen when you breathe in and to release all toxic when you breathe out. your body does all this amazing things for you and by this you ease the mind.

Karma – action and effect/result of an action. Our desires, thoughts and actions produce reactions: pain or pleasure.
For every action there will be a reaction or effect: memory is a modification of the mind. For each modification there is an associated feeling; each memory of experience is shaped by a corresponding (hidden or not yet active) impression of that feeling.
Causes of affliction: ignorance, egoism, attachment, aversion and clinging on to life.

4 kinds of karma
black: wicked person, bad
white & black: most ordinary people; external reasons and give but also hurt others.
white: saints; not hurting no fly.
neither white nor black: enlightened being; no karma (no desires, no selfishness, no doership).

Categories of karma
stored: total of good and bad karma of the past, become active when favorable.
past: past karma that became active; responsible in present life: unavoidable effects and NEED to be accepted.
current actions: will fructify in future; only for people who are egoistic and selfish & have the sense of doership.

Your happy or unhappy life is your own creation.
pious acts: contentment, forgiveness, self-restraint, non-covetousness (not wanting someone else’s wealth), purity, control of senses, wisdom, truthfulness, compassion and kindness.
sinful acts: anger, greed, jealousy, violence, incontinence (no self control).

Kriya yoga
Kriya yoga is the purifying side of yoga, they are actions to purify the mind. Actions like austerity, study of scriptures and surrender to LOVE. The purpose is to reduce the causes of afflictions.
Austerity: accepting all pain, self-discipline. Simple living, control of the senses, sexual purity, regulated fasting, observance of silence for a day a week, cultivation of moral qualities, chanting in the name of love, selfless service.
Self-study: studying/reading and self-analysis. What is learned should be put into practice.
Self-surrender to love: nothing is ours. Total surrender to love will remove the veil of egoism and selfishness and will bring permanent peace and joy. Selfless service to humanity without any personal motive.

Raja yoga
is meditation that includes all ethical and moral observances, asanas and pranayama. Raja yoga is a scientific discipline, most systematic method of attaining superconscious state.
Raja yoga divided in 8 (called Astanga Yoga)
1. Yama – self-restraints
2. Niyama – observances
3. Asana – posture
4. Pranayama – regulation of breath
5. Pratyahara – withdrawal of senses
6. Dharana – concentration
7. Dhyana – meditation
8. Samadhi – transendence/superconscious state

Most of us are unable to concentrate and meditate because of the continious wandering of the mind.
Disturbances of the mind:
emotional disturbances: mental conflicts and imperfections – reduced by practicing Yama & Niyama.
physical discomfort: pain, illness and uncomfortable posture – reduced by practicing Asana.
irregularities in the pranic flow: not being aware of the breath – reduced by practicing Pranayama.
outside distractions – reduced by practicing Pratyahara: inner techniques to not get distracted. Disconnect the association of the sens organs with external happenings.

Obstacles to Yoga
– sickness: dis-ease disturbs the mind, it causes pain, dullness and laziness;
dullness: no goal, no path to follow, no enthusiasm, “living corpse” without concentration;
doubt: no faith in self, indecisive;
negligence: failure to take proper care of/over something;
sloth: laziness, neglect duties and no self-discipline;
sensuality: desire for sensual experiences, pleasure and enjoyments;
false perception: false or invalid knowledge, illusion;
failure to reach firm grounds: failure to attain progress/continuity in thought or concentration;
inability to stay: failure to maintain the attained state of concentration;
grief or pain: pain within own body or mind due to sickness/accidental hurt, pain caused by animal, injuries caused by others, loss of property or death of loved ones & pain caused by nature;
dejection: outcome of egoism and selfishness, expected things don’t happen, non-fulfillment of desires;
unsteadiness of the body: agitated mind causes tension in the nerves, restlessness in the body;
irregular breathing: disturbs the energy flow and affects systems in the body.

Maintaining peace of mind

%d bloggers like this: